//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Gnome Desktop on Ubuntu Server

I generally work with the Command line tool provided by Ubuntu but still wanted to setup Ubuntu desktop on the Server edition. So as usual, I setup a brand new machine with Ubuntu server and once all was done, I started to install ubuntu desktop.
But that was where I got stuck. I did a search on Google for installing Ubuntu desktop on Server and every where there was one answer.

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

and for all of those who tried it, it bombed.

It was then I realized that the repositories might not have been set properly in the /etc/apt/sources.list file.I ran the update command

sudo apt-get update

and then tried to download the desktop package. Bingo it worked.

So for all those who are facing an error that the package was not found please update your repositories and try to do an install.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

