//
you're reading...
Technology

STAF

One of my favorite Test Automation frameworks which I have used in many of my projects is STAF.

Software Testing Automation Framework (STAF) is an open source, multi-platform, multi-language framework designed around the idea of reusable components, called services (such as process invocation, resource management, logging, and monitoring).

The main advantage of STAF is that one can code the automation script in either JAVA, Python, Perl et al and can run the same script on a plethora of platforms, which makes the job of an automation engineer very simple.  STAF shines when you need to run tests on a distributed platform and on a variety of platforms at the same time and aggregate the test results in a single repository.

STAF is also very well documented and also has provides online tutorials.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “STAF

  1. Hi Sudharshan,

    Could you please shed some more light on your experience of using STAF framework for your projects. Some of the queries I have regarding the Framework are:

    1. For how long has this Framework been in use?
    2. Reliability of the framework based on your own experience on using it.
    3. Ease of use. I don’t think this should be a cause of concern for me though 🙂 However it would give me a rough idea of the complexity of the framework.

    I have began reading the documentation and it looks really well covered.

    Regards,

    Wesley

    Posted by wesley | November 9, 2009, 5:51 am
  2. Hi Wesley,

    I have been using STAF for the last 3 years and I am must tell you, it is the most stable open source automation framework that I have come across. I have used STAF in conjunction with Java although it can be used with Perl and Python. It is extremely reliable and I has always worked fine for me. Learning curve is simple since there is tonnes of documentation and sample code available. Join the user group it would be of good help.

    Feel free to contact me in case of any queries

    Sudharshan

    Posted by sudharshan | November 10, 2009, 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

